No Longer Apologizing for Who I Am

Matt Brock, Apology Button, Flickr

Matt Brock, Apology Button, Flickr

I think the dead give away that I am not very confident is my constant need to apologize for what I say and do. I do not particulary feel this is a requirement, but still, I tend to do things very cautiously to avoid ruffling feathers and rocking the boat. Over time, I’ve come to realize that this way of doing this is very unnecessary.

Some examples include: 

  • Telling a joke.
  • Saying or explaining something that I may find interesting.
  • Over speak in certain situations.
  • Forget to mention something.
  • Fail to follow in a conversation.
  • Make small or large mistakes.
  • Carrying on a conversation no one is interested in.
  • Sneeze, cough, blow my nose.
  • If my Spanish was not too great.
  • And much, much more!

Overkill right? It also annoys me when a friend overly apologizes, but I know in her heart that she is sweet and means well. Looking at her and the reasons she does this sheds light on why I may do this: when I make tiny mistakes like getting an idea wrong or voicing an opposing opinion. These are definitely not reasons to apologize.

I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry… There are plenty of reasons to say so but in instances that involve two good friends br perfect strangers sharing pleasantries. Unless something totally rude and offensive was said, there is likely no need to apologize. Apologizing when not necessary does not make you a better person or isn’t even polite, really. In this instance, it’s

Should I apologize?

Geralt, Pixabay

Geralt, Pixabay

I don’t think I should apologize because honestly in these cases, when I look back on them, I’m only being human. I’m only being the person I truly am and a lot of times people do not appreciate or accept that.

If you can relate, I think that it’s ridiculous to feel so inferior to others that we have to apologize for every move we make. That’s not living. It’s important to be able to express yourself without feeling as if you’re living a mistake, that you are a walking disaster.

You have no need to apologize… Of course unless you are actually and intentionally rude.

#SocialAnxiety #Positivity4SAnSP #TalkAboutSAnSP

 

 

Leave a Reply

